What you need:

undefined

  • 1 Perspex Box – make sure it has a hinge (this can be purchased in most haberdashery or jewellery shops on Sham Shui Po’s Yu Chau Street. I bought mine from “Accessory Republic” on the corner of Yu Chau & Pei Ho Street)
  • 1 Can White Spray Paint
  • Scotch tape
  • 1 Tube clear contact adhesive
  • 1 Small Sheet of Leather (I used some fake leather that I had lying around the house. I’m sure I found it in Sham Shui Po; there are many stalls and shops along Ki Lung Street (around number 193) that sell leather, both real and fake)
  • A mix of different shaped & coloured crystals (“Kiwi”, a few shops down from “Accessory Republic” on Yu Chau Street, is a treasure trove of embellishments – everything from sparkles to mini plastic sweets… I even made a ‘candy crown’ for a party once!)

How to:

1.  Cut out the shape of the embellishment from the leather sheet. In this instance, I’ve drawn out an estimated shape of a bat-eagle hybrid!

2.  Using the scotch tape, cover the outside of the Perspex box and the edges. Keep the inside uncovered.

3.  Lay the open Perspex box on a sheet of newspaper and spray evenly with the white spray paint. Leave to dry and then spray with another coat. Remember: whenever you use spray paint, be sure to spray in a well-ventilated area.

4.  Whilst the paint dries, use the contact adhesive to stick the crystals onto the leather.

5.  Once the paint has dried, peel the scotch tape off the outside of the box.

6.  Using the contact adhesive, stick the leather and crystal-embellished shape onto the top of the box. Leave to dry.

Ta-da!

undefined

I’ve been finding excuses to use this clutch almost everyday since I made it! I just love it so much and it’s so easy to match with anything because of the neutrality of the white colour.

